Critical system of Atlantic Ocean currents could collapse in 2030s

It always sucks when the AC goes out.
And the next time I have to write a position description, I will steal this phrase from the article, "Using exceptionally complex and expensive computing systems"
to make "a good knowledge of MS Word, and Excel" sound more cutting-edge

Last edited:
jake gyllenhaal storm GIF

I think "As early as the late 2030s" really means "as early as the early 2030s." The scientists can't say the second because it's not supported by the science that we have now, but anyone paying attention knows that estimates have been pushed forward as we have learned more and more about climate non-linearities with positive feedback. As the Earth gets warmer, it sets off warming processes that accelerates the warming.

I'm not a climate scientist. That's my take.

I think "As early as the late 2030s" really means "as early as the early 2030s." The scientists can't say the second because it's not supported by the science that we have now, but anyone paying attention knows that estimates have been pushed forward as we have learned more and more about climate non-linearities with positive feedback. As the Earth gets warmer, it sets off warming processes that accelerates the warming.

I'm not a climate scientist. That's my take.
One aspect of climate change and the warming taking place across much of the globe, and particularly in the Arctic and northern latitudes, that received too little attention is the melting of permafrost.